21st Century Council

A forum for dialogue on global governance, with a focus on the G-20 as the governing body of globalization. Members include former heads of state, global entrepreneurs and political thinkers.

Council for the Future of Europe

This Council gathers a small group of the region's most eminent political figures to research and debate ways forward for a united Europe.

Think Long Committee for California

Develops comprehensive approaches to repairing California's broken system of governance while evaluating policies and institutions vital for the state's long-term future.

Jacques Delors
Jacques Delors was President of the European Commission from 1985 to 1995. He had previously been Minister of Finance in France. In October 1996, Jacques Delors founded the research institute Notre Europe and is today its founding President. In May 2000, he was appointed President of the CERC (Conseil de l'emploi, des revenus et de la cohésion sociale) until July 2009.

Jacques Delors started his career at the Banque de France in 1945. He worked there until 1962, and was a member of the Economic and Social Council. He became Head of the Social Affairs Department of the General Planning Committee until 1969 before being appointed General Secretary for Permanent Training and Social Promotion (1969-1973).

He was a member of Prime Minister Jacques Chaban-Delmas's cabinet (1969-1972), then Associate Professor at the University of Paris-Dauphine (1974-1979) and Director of the research centre 'Work and Society'. He was elected as a Member of the European Parliament in 1979 and chaired the Economic and Monetary Affairs Committee until May 1981. From May 1981 to July 1984, he was Minister of Economics and Finance. He was elected Mayor of Clichy (1983-1984). From 1992 to 1996, he chaired UNESCO's International Commission on Education for the 21st century.

He has been awarded the title of Docteur Honoris Causa by 24 universities and won various prizes and distinctions: Prix Jean Monnet (1988), Prix Louis Weiss (1989), Prix Prince des Asturies (1989), Prix Charlemagne (1992), Prix Carlos V (1995), Prix Erasme(1997), Prix de l'économie mondiale (2006). He received the Nijmegen Medal of Peace in the Netherlands on March 2010.